Curriculum outline

Within the Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1 we offer a broad, balanced and creative curriculum, where the children will be:

  • ​actively involved in the curriculum
  • gain ownership of their learning
  • achieve a sense of value and success
  • set appropriate tasks and challenges

We aim to develop the whole child by developing:

  • ​an understanding and tolerance of each other
  • an awareness of and respect towards other cultures, beliefs and traditions
  • positive behaviour and attitudes towards themselves, others and the wider environment
  • a sense of awe and wonder and a willingness to reflect on their experiences

The personal development of our pupils is important to us. We therefore include moral, social, cultural, citizenship and health issues in our teaching. The school has received national accreditation as a 'Healthy School' and as a Level 1 UNICEF 'Rights Respecting School'.

Policy documents and schemes of work are available for parents to inspect at the school office or available on the website.

Foundation Stage

The Foundation Stage is the name given to the phase of learning from 0 to 5.  By the end of the Foundation Stage (the end of Reception) most children are expected to achieve the Early Learning Goals and where appropriate go beyond them.

Our aim is to create a warm, welcoming stimulating environment where your child will feel secure, happy and develop an awareness of caring and sharing.  We are aware of their need for active involvement in learning and encourage exploring.

We acknowledge the need for children to find their own identity and to develop a good self image which will enable them to build up good relationships with other young children. We encourage children to gradually gain independence.

Children learn through play.  They learn to create, construct and discover, to observe behaviour and form relationships, to act out situations, to develop skills and adjust to new experiences.  They learn to talk freely and listen to others.

We aim to create an environment where opportunities are structured to encourage children's development.

The Foundation Stage curriculum is organised into prime areas and specific areas

The prime areas include:

  • communication and language
  • physical development

personal, social and emotional development

The specific areas include:

  • literacy
  • mathematics
  • understanding the world
  • expressive arts and design

The Early Learning Goals establish expectations for most

children to reach by the end of the Foundation Stage.    They are not age but developmentally related as we fully realise children at this stage can develop at an uneven rate within different areas.​



Key Stage 1

Key Stage 1 refers to Years 1 & 2.  We offer a broad and balanced skills based curriculum, which has strong cross curricular links, enabling children to transfer their learning. 

In line with the National Curriculum, we cover the following subjects:

Core Subjects:             Foundation Subjects:

Literacy                                      History

Numeracy                                 Geography

Science                                          Art

                                             Design Technology




Children are taught in a variety of groupingswithin all classes depending on their ability in a particular area of the curriculum. The work is planned in detail to ensure that every individual is encouraged to progress at an appropriate rate and reach their maximum potential whilst having full access to the programmes of study.


The Teaching of Reading

There are four main areas in this policy that are involved in the teaching of reading: 

  • Phonics 
  • Individual reading 
  • Guided reading 
  • Developing a love of reading

Each of these areas are outlined in detail in the Reading Policy.



Also In This Section